“Turn the taximeter on if you want to fuck with us…”

Unedited text.


December. Weekend. At about 7am I got a fare in Leppävaara district, on the border of Helsinki and Espoo, to an apartment building about a kilometer (about 0,6mi) from the post.

The potential clients were a guy, about 25-30 years old, and a chick, about the same age. Dressed simple, cheap, you could even say their clothes were “tired”. They seemed pretty old and worn-out.

The couple came out of the doorway. They waved to signal me, that they are the ones who ordered the taxi. I waited for them to take a seat in the car. But they had other plans. They lit their cigarettes… What the fuck? I rolled down the passenger side window and asked: “What, are you going to smoke??” “Yes,” the dude answered. What the fuck, I thought again. I told the guy: “I will start the taximeter until you’re sucking on your cigarette.” “Do it, if you want to fuck with us,” the important gentleman told me. Exactly that. “Well, I don’t know about fucking with you but if you have ordered a taxi, you have to pay for the waiting too,” I informed him of the well-known rules. “Well you can always fuck with us if you want to,” he repeated his view. The chick started laughing.

I told them…


You can read the end of the story from the book “The Diary of Taxi Driver in Finland. Part One” with about 100 stories on Amazon for just 2.99!

And if it’s not too much to ask, please leave your comment or put a Like on my book page on Amazon after the reading.

Many thanks in advance,

Tommi Topelund

Leave a Reply

