Like a canoe had been thrown on the wall of snow

Unedited text.


March. South-Espoo. Olari taxi post.

I was the first taxi when I arrived at the post. I saw a guy, about 22-23 years old, standing on the post, a bit more drunk than you would like. He entered my car and got on the front seat and told me in a stretchy tone: “Drive to that corner,” showing me a bend about 30m away, where another bar was.

Shit, I thought he was playing a stupid joke on me and just wants to drive 30 meters. Another damn moron trying to act cool. I got pissed off. I yelled at him: “Fucking walk, it’s right there! Why the fuck should I leave the post to drive you 30 meters?” The guy was startled and told me: “No-no, my friends are coming out of the bar and joining us in a minute.” “Oh, got it. I’m sorry, that’s another story.” I apologized with embarrassment. I reacted too quickly. The last fare with some drunk idiots was still in the back of my head.

I drove to the corner and in a few minutes, the friends arrived.

We drove to Matinkylä (about 1,5km/0,9mi). The guys were satisfied to even get a taxi. The two friends who had been picked up were amazed that their friend got a taxi so quickly when taxis were a deficit.

So the guys exited the car in a street in Matinkylä and I started to turn the car around.

I watched as the guys crossed the street. They had to go over a wall of snow of about 1 meter (about 3 feet). The alcohol had done its job, so had the cold weather with the street. So on the slippery wall of snow nature took another victim – one of the guys who started to go over the wall, fell on his stomach, two hands to the side like a figurine. He didn’t get a chance to even defend himself with his arms. It was like a canoe had been thrown on the wall of snow – face down, ass up. I started laughing uncontrollably, as did the guys on the street. I was just hoping he didn’t injure his face and that he was okay. I think he was, though. The guys didn’t ask for my help. So I left their company in the good mood that I was in.


Dear Reader,

Please find “The Diary of Taxi Driver in Finland. Part One” with about 100 stories on Amazon for just 2.99!

And if it’s not too much to ask, please leave your comment or put a Like on my book page on Amazon after the reading.

Many thanks in advance,

Tommi Topelund

Leave a Reply

